Things I Want to Tell My Niece

02May10

and all women…

(as posted on The Naughty Gypsy Women’s Group discussion board)

I look at my niece and see a representation of how young girls are nowadays; girls just reaching puberty, girls learning how to think for themselves and live in their own bodies. I think back to when I was a young girl, at how confusing and strange the world seemed. Not to mention all the changes my body was going through. I think about how great it would have been to have an older girl, or woman, that I could have gone to with my questions, a true confidant with experience and wisdom, who could be my sounding board.

I want so badly to be that role-model for my niece. While I make that wish, I hope that I will be a good, and positive, role-model for her, while still letting her find her own way. What would I want her to know? What keys things do I wish I had known all those years ago?

Don’t be afraid to be different

Decide on the kind of person you want to be, and then be it. Don’t let others tell you how to dress, think, or act, and certainly don’t change who you are to get someone else’s approval. One of the worst things you can do is sell yourself out by compromising your morals to impress someone. If they don’t have the same morals or ideas as you do, you probably don’t want them in your life anyway. Don’t let peer pressure, bullying, or teasing get in your way of expressing yourself. Be who you want to be, without making apologies for it.

There are a lot of people on this Earth, you won’t like everyone, and everyone won’t like you.

It’s ok if someone doesn’t like you or you don’t like someone. The important thing is how you treat those you dislike. People still deserve to be treated fairly and with respect (unless they have proven otherwise). You don’t have to agree with their views, but treat them fairly and value them as a fellow person and you will have a life filled with integrity.

Admit fault

No one is perfect. We all make mistakes. That’s how people learn and grow. How you react when you make a mistake is what’s important. It speaks volumes about who you are as a person. When you make a mistake, have the courage to take responsibility for it, apologize for it, and do the best you can to make it right. And once it’s over with, move on. Learn what you can from the situation and then let it go. There’s no use beating yourself up over what you ‘could have’ done.

Leave regret at the door

We are all doing the best we can at any given time. None of us has all the answers. We try our best and hope we make the right decisions. If you do that, there’s no need to regret anything because you’ll know that you did the best you could at the time. It’s so easy to look back and think about what you could have, or should have, done. If a decision you made turned out to be wrong, that’s okay. Learn from it. Remember that outcome the next time a similar situation comes long, and act accordingly. Worrying about what you didn’t do in the past doesn’t help you in the present. Do the best you can in every situation and don’t second guess yourself later.

Have Fun

We all have to grow up and take on adult responsibilities. That doesn’t mean that we have to stop having fun, or doing the things we love. Be silly, laugh out loud at the library, or sing in the car. Always make room for your hobbies, and other fun activities as you age. It’ll keep you young at heart, open to new possibilities, and healthy.

Above all else… believe in yourself.

There will be times when you want to do something, or be something different than everyone else around you. There will also be times when your friends or family disagree with your choices. They may even say you ‘won’t make it’. Don’t let that stop you. Don’t be afraid to stand alone to achieve what you want. If you believe you can achieve whatever you want, you will do just that. Believe in yourself and you will make your own dreams come true. It will be the hardest work you will ever do, but the hardest work is often the most rewarding.

Things I Want to Tell My Niece
2 Responses to “Things I Want to Tell My Niece”

  1. 1 Mebyexceelf

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

    • Hi Christian!
      Thank-you so much for the show of support. I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying my blog. I hope you hang around longer. Please feel free to drop me a line anytime.
      Thanks,
      Laura


Leave a Reply

