Operation Shuffle: Making Space for Creativity (Part 1)

27Sep12

I want to work from home; having the freedom to commute ten feet, work in my pjs and be my own boss appeals to me the most. Now that I’m out of work, it seems like the perfect time to set up shop with this goal in mind.

Given the nature of what I do, I require a lot of supplies and equipment, not to mention all the storage for fabric, stock, shipping materials, etc.. This means I need space. Currently I live in a two-bedroom apartment with my boyfriend J and three cat roommates. It would be an understatement to say it’s cozy. It’s downright too small for us, so finding the space for me to set up a studio in a way that’s realistic, convenient and practical is a creative venture in itself.

Enter Operation Shuffle. It’s a brilliant plan where we move every piece of furniture in our apartment to a different room, freeing up the dining room (my current sewing spot), while turning the master bedroom into a studio and guest bedroom.

Did I say brilliant? More like bat-shit insane! (In hindsight it would have been easier just to move into a larger place! The end result is the only thing keeping me positive about the whole experience.)

To make things a little more interesting, we started the project this time last year but had to put it on hold as a result of all the health issues, stress, etc. I was dealing with (you can check out my welcome back post for details). We had to put it on hold right in the middle of the shuffle. I’m sure you can imagine how fun it’s been living in this chaos for almost a year. Thankfully things have sorted themselves out and I now have the good health and free time to pick up the project where I left off.

I will be refinishing old furniture, making new furniture, creating work zones and organizing the crazy pile of craft supplies I own. I thought it would be a great opportunity to use the blog as a way of documenting the process while at the same time posting some DIY tutorials along the way.

So this will be the first in a series of posts all about Operation Shuffle. I have no idea how long this series will be or how many posts it will encompass. Let’s just say that’s all part of the journey!

I will do my best to post before-and-after photos as I go along as well as detailed project information. And if you have project or organizational ideas you’ve successfully implemented in your craft room, please share them! (I mean, really, how do you organize and keep track of the fabric stash?!?!? – which never seems to be so much a stash as it is an ever-growing monster that devours everything in its path!)

I really wanted to post some pictures of the current sewing spot. I know I took some when Operation Shuffle started, but I can’t seem to find them right now (too much upheaval!). I know they’re around here somewhere and I’ll post them just as soon as I lay my hands on them.

In the meantime, here’s a couple of pictures of the master bedroom (soon-to-be NG studio!) freshly painted white over the old navy blue.

NG studio before painting white over the old navy blue.

This is the master bedroom before painting. It was a very dark navy blue room. Since the NG colours are black, white and purple I decided to go with a fresh coat of white on the walls.

NG studio with a fresh coat of white paint.

The view of the other end of the new NG studio after getting it’s fresh coat of paint.

4 Responses to “Operation Shuffle: Making Space for Creativity (Part 1)”

  1. I’ve been seriously reconsidering revamping our dining room (we never eat at the table) and I already have my desk and desktop in the dining room, but I need to add vertical shelving at the least above the desk. I’m thinking about posting about it on my blog, but right now I’m searching for ideas.


  1. 1 Valuing Every Bump in This Hard Knock Life « The Naughty Gypsy Blog
  2. 2 Operation Shuffle: Part 3 | The Naughty Gypsy Blog

Leave a Reply

