One Designer, Two Photographers, Five Models, One Afternoon = Over A Thousand Photos!

18Oct12

This past weekend I held my very first Naughty Gypsy portfolio photo shoot! Some of the outfits are 10-15 years old and have never been photographed! Clearly this was long overdue.

I had help from my wonderful friends and family: a group of amazing people who support and encourage me in all of my goals. I’m very lucky and thankful for these people. Especially since they were willing to play dress-up on a very cold, and sometimes rainy, day!

My mom and I packed up her car in the wee hours Saturday morning and traveled to Toronto. In the back we had eleven outfits in wardrobe bags; a metal clothing rack; boxes of wigs, hair accessories and hair care products; all the make-up I own; hats, props and shoes and enough food to feed a dozen people. It was quite the production!

The shoot was held at my second mom’s house. (Technically she’s my best friend’s mom but we’re all so close that I call her mom too – I’m lucky that way!) We were able to back into the driveway, open the hatchback and have everything at our fingertips. The side yard is covered and opens onto the driveway so we unloaded and set up everything right from the back of the car. The trunk of the car then turned into craft services for the day!

For the actual shooting we had the option of using the backyard (with greenery and a great old garage), the alley beside the house (a long driveway backing onto a strip mall, with doors, iron stairs, etc.) and the parking lot behind the house. It gave us a variety of places to choose from. On a side note, I’d like to thank whoever put up graffiti to match the colour of each of the outfits. It turned out to be great backdrops!

There was myself, my assistant (a.k.a my mom), two photographers, five models (three of which did the hair and make-up), and our host.

I’m in the process of picking out the best pictures and editing them (something I need to learn!) but I wanted to share some of the behind-the-scenes photos with you. I hope you like them!

A full rack of clothing waiting for models.

A full rack of clothing waiting for models.

Wigs at the ready.

Wigs at the ready.

Look at all the purdy colours!

Look at all the purdy colours!

Make-up consultation for the lovely Sherry.

Make-up consultation for the lovely Sherry.

Duane acting like an evil mastermind in the burgundy cloak.

Duane pretending to be an evil mastermind in the burgundy cloak.

Side view of the green forest fairy with the lovely Kim modeling.

The lovely Kim modeling the green forest fairy outfit.

Behind the scenes with the blue fairy.

Behind the scenes with Lee, the blue fairy.

Behind the scenes with the photographer with lingerie outfit, modeled by the beautiful Zareen.

The beautiful Zareen poses for photographer Al.

Behind the scenes with Sherry and her wedding dress. It was such an honour to be able to make my best friend's wedding dress. It was a treat to see her wear it again.

Behind the scenes with Sherry and her wedding dress. It was an honour to make my best friend’s wedding dress and it was such a treat to see her wear it again!

A serious group picture.

This is – almost – the whole gang. The two photographers and our host are suspiciously absent. Without these folks I wouldn’t have been able to pull this photo shoot off and these outfits would still be tucked away in trunks! THANK YOU!!! I can’t express how much I appreciate your support! xoxo ❤

And now a not-so-serious group shot!

And now a not-so-serious group shot!

One Response to “One Designer, Two Photographers, Five Models, One Afternoon = Over A Thousand Photos!”


  1. 1 Part Deux: One Designer, Two Photographers, Five Models, One Afternoon = Over A Thousand Photos! | The Naughty Gypsy Blog

Leave a Reply

