Operation Shuffle: Part 3

28Mar13

This week Operation Shuffle continues with a look at my new-old sewing desk. If you’re not familiar with Operation Shuffle you can check out the first two posts here (part one) and here (part two).

Now onto today’s scheduled program…

I’ve very lucky to have a dad who can make wooden furniture. When I was a child he made book shelves, a computer desk, a sewing desk and a hobby desk for our family home. The pieces were scattered amongst family members and now, many years later I’ve collected all of them together.

While I love the furniture it’s not really my style or in my colours. And let’s face it, after 30 years the furniture has a few nicks and scrapes. As part of Operation Shuffle I’ve painted, covered, and/or fixed almost all of the pieces. Most of them are now part of my sewing room.

Let’s take a look at the sewing desk…

Sewing Desk Before

I had already taken the desk apart when I remembered to take a before pic. This is the left stack of drawers before painting. The drawers were made specifically for a seamstress so they are measured to perfectly hold scissors, threads, etc. This makes keeping things organized so much easier.

Sewing desk before 2

The right hand stack of drawers before painting.

Partially painted drawers. Since my theme is black and white I painted the main body of the desk white, while the drawer and door fronts were painted a deep midnight black.

Partially painted drawers. Since my theme is black and white I painted the main body of the desk white, while the drawer and door fronts were painted a deep midnight black.

Sewing desk painting white

The base units get a fresh coat of white paint.

Sewing Desk After 2

The finished desk! I covered the top of the desk with felt. The next step is to top it with a 1″ thick acrylic sheet. The acrylic will provide a hard working service that won’t easily scratch and I can secure instructions, photos etc. under the acrylic for easy reference while sewing. There’s the added advantage of being easy to clean so I can remove any stray paint or glue.  The acrylic is pricy though so I have to save up for it. For now I have a sheet of clear vinyl covering the felt to keep it dust free and glue free.

Sewing Desk After

I’m not completely happy with the handles. Handles are expensive to replace, especially when you have so many! For now I painted them to match the theme of the room. They will probably be replaced in the future.

Sewing Desk drawer contents

A rainbow of colours to play with! All the drawers are organized so I can finally find what I’m looking for.

Sewing Desk how I sew

Most days this is how the desk really looks! Right now I’m creating outfits for the upcoming Fashion Against Bullying Show. If you come to the show you may recognize some of these scraps!

Next time on Operation Shuffle I’ll show you how I organized my fabric stash!

One Response to “Operation Shuffle: Part 3”

  1. 1 nat

    love the desk! and that it has everything so organized. small drawers are awesome and its perfect that your dad made it too. feeling happy for you.


Leave a Reply

